= Subscriber content; or subscribe now to access all American Banker content.

Democrats Name New Members to Banking Panel

WASHINGTON — The House Democratic Caucus will send six new members to the Financial Services Committee next year, Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., announced this week.

The members will all be incoming freshman members of Congress, many with industry experience. They are Bill Foster of Illinois, Dan Kildee of Michigan, Patrick Murphy of Florida, John Delaney of Maryland, Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona and Joyce Beatty of Ohio.

Foster, a scientist and entrepreneur, previously served on the House banking panel as a congressman from 2008 through 2010. Kildee, who is replacing his uncle, retiring Rep. Dale Kildee, has been involved in housing issues during his work in local politics in Genesee County, Mich., and in the non-profit sector.

Murphy is a certified public accountant who used to work as an auditor for a consulting firm, and Delaney is the co-founder and former executive chairman of CapitalSource, a commercial lender based in Chevy Chase, Md.

Sinema is a social worker and lawyer, and Beatty is a business owner with experience in academia and local government.

Democrats previously announced that Rep. Maxine Waters, D-Calif., will replace retiring Rep. Barney Frank, D-Mass., as ranking member on the panel.

The House Democratic Caucus named six incoming freshman congressmen to serve on the Financial Services Committee next year.




Comments (0)

Be the first to comment on this post using the section below.

Add Your Comments:
Not Registered?
You must be registered to post a comment. Click here to register.
Already registered? Log in here
Please note you must now log in with your email address and password.