= Subscriber content; or subscribe now to access all American Banker content.

GOP Names Ranking Members of Senate Banking Panel Subcommittees

WASHINGTON — The Senate Banking Committee's top Republican, Sen. Michael Crapo, R-Idaho, has announced ranking members for the panel's subcommittees.

Sen. Mike Johanns of Nebraska will lead the securities, insurance and investment subcommittee for the GOP, replacing Crapo. Sen. Patrick Toomey of Pennsylvania will serve as ranking member of the financial institutions and consumer protection subcommittee, replacing Sen. Bob Corker of Tennessee.

Sen. Mark Kirk of Illinois will serve as the lead GOP member on the national security and international trade and finance subcommittee, replacing Johanns, and Sen. Jerry Moran of Kansas is going to lead Republicans on the housing, transportation and community development subcommittee, replacing former Sen. Jim DeMint of South Carolina, who resigned late last year to lead The Heritage Foundation, a conservative think tank.

Freshman Sen. Dean Heller of Nevada, a former House Financial Services Committee member who used to work in the banking industry, will head up the economic policy subcommittee for the party, replacing Sen. David Vitter of Louisiana.

"These subcommittees cover a broad range of issues this Congress that will affect every American," said Crapo in a press release Friday. "I look forward to working with this talented and knowledgeable group of legislators as they work to develop sensible reforms to make our financial system safer and our economy stronger."




Comments (0)

Be the first to comment on this post using the section below.

Add Your Comments:
Not Registered?
You must be registered to post a comment. Click here to register.
Already registered? Log in here
Please note you must now log in with your email address and password.