Donald Bidwell has been elected chairman of the board of Liberty Bank, Middletown, Conn., succeeding the retired Robert E. Stevens.

Mr. Bidwell, president and owner of Rapidprint Inc., has been a director of Liberty since 1993.

Mr. Stevens was elected a corporator of Liberty Bank - a position he will continue to hold - in 1971, became a director in 1972, and was elected chairman in 1989. He is credited with placing an emphasis on bank involvement in community activities.

Rick Bellow is president and chief executive officer of Liberty Bank.

Newly elected directors are Susan G. Townsley, director of human resources for Evergreen Woods Continuing Life Care Community in North Branford; and Donald B. Wilbur, plant manager at Chesebrough-Pond's USA in Clinton.

Elected as corporators were Manuel A. Diaz Jr., a medical technologist and evening/night supervisor at Windham Hospital; Lawrence D. McHugh, president of the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce; attorney Deborah D. Shapiro; Alan R. Messier, an attorney with the New London law firm of McGarry & Messier; and John L. Robinson, senior sales representative for the Hunt-Wesson Grocery Products Sales Co.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.