P. James Dowe Jr. has been elected president of the Maine Association of Community Banks for 1993-94. He succeeds Edward L. Hennessey Jr., president of Machias Savings Bank.

Mr. Dowe has been president and CEO of Bath Savings Institution since 1986, when he left Androscoggin Savings Bank.

William J. Ryan, president of Peoples Heritage Bank, Portland, was elected vice chairman of the association.

Elected to its executive committee were bank presidents Rodney J. Normand of Sanford Institution for Sayings, Steven A. Closson of Androscoggin Savings Bank, William J. Denyer of Biddeford Savings Bank, Malcolm E. Jones of Bangor Savings Bank, August Berta of Auburn Sayings and Loan Association, Arthur J. Markos of Gardiner Savings Institution, and Mr. Hennessey.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.