Tuesday's elections wreaked havoc on the Senate Banking Committee and, possibly, the future of financial reform legislation.

After Sen. Alfonse M. D'Amato's stunning defeat, Sen. Phil Gramm is expected to become chairman of the Senate Banking Committee next year. The Texas Republican almost single-handedly stopped financial reform legislation last month.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.