The new lineup of the Senate Banking Committee will boost community bankers' grassroots lobbying power at the expense of thrifts, according to industry lobbyists.

Four of the panel's new members hail from rural states with few thrifts: Wayne Allard, R-Colo., Chuck Hagel, R-Neb., Tim Johnson, D-S.D., and Michael Enzi, R-Wyo.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.