John S. Reed, chairman of Citicorp, has joined the board of the Banking Industry Technology Secretariat, taking the 10th and last seat open to members of the Bankers Roundtable.

The roundtable, which organized the secretariat to preserve banks' influence over payment systems and emerging technologies, announced the directors Friday after Mr. Reed's acceptance.

With five of the top six banking companies represented, the group known as Bits expects to present a strong, united front on issues relating to electronic banking, security, and privacy.

Frank Wobst, chairman of Huntington Bancshares in Columbus, Ohio, a driving force behind Bits, is its chairman. Chase Manhattan Corp. senior vice chairman Edward A. Miller was elected vice chairman.

The others, all chairmen and/or CEOs, are: David Coulter, BankAmerica Corp.; Edward Crutchfield, First Union Corp.; Spencer Eccles, First Security Corp.; Charles Gifford, Bank of Boston Corp.; Richard Kovacevich, Norwest Corp.; Hugh McColl, NationsBank Corp.; and John McCoy, Banc One Corp.

Community bankers James Culberson of First National Bank and Trust, Asheboro, N.C., and Thomas Sheehan of Grafton (Wis.) State Bank represent the American Bankers Association and Independent Bankers Association of America, respectively.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.