To improve efficiency and customer service, SunTrust Banks will consolidate its 27 bank charters into a single Georgia charter on Jan. 1, the company said Tuesday.

Atlanta-based SunTrust has charters in Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, and Virginia. It has banking offices in those states as well as Alabama, Maryland, and the District of Columbia.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.