WASHINGTON — The Conference of State Bank Supervisors named Charles A. Vice, the commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions, as the group’s chairman this week. He succeeds Greg Gonzalez, the Tennessee commissioner of financial institutions, who was appointed immediate past chairman.

Other 2013-2014 CSBS officers, elected during a meeting of the board of directors in Nashville, include David J. Cotney, the Massachusetts commissioner, who was appointed vice chairman. Lauren Kingry, the Arizona superintendent of financial institutions, was named secretary, while Texas Banking Commissioner Charles G. Cooper was named treasurer. Candace A. Franks, the Arkansas State banking commissioner, was appointed chairman-elect.

In remarks Wednesday during the CSBS State-Federal Supervisory Forum, Vice called for strong coordination between state and federal agencies.

"We need each other, period," he said, according to a press release issued by CSBS. "Through this relationship, we provide checks and balances, we leverage our strengths, and we minimize our weaknesses."

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.