WASHINGTON - The Federal Reserve Board is looking for people to serve on its Consumer Advisory Council.

At yearend, the central bank will appoint nine new members to serve three-year terms beginning January 1996.

Anyone interested should send nominations by Aug. 31 to Dolores S. Smith, associate director, division of consumer and community affairs, Federal Reserve Board, Washington, D.C. 20551.

Established by Congress in 1976, the council meets in Washington, D.C., three times a year to advise the Fed on consumer credit issues such as the Consumer Credit Protection and the Community Reinvestment acts.

The 30-member group includes bankers, community activists, and lawyers.

Some current members include Ronald A. Homer, chief executive of Boston Bank of Commerce; John Taylor, president of the National Community Reinvestment Coalition; and Eugene I. Lehrman, president of the American Association of Retired Persons, Madison, Wis.

Nominations should include the address and telephone number of the nominee, as well as descriptions of past and present positions, and any knowledge or experience in community reinvestment, consumer credit, or consumer financial issues.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.