Sandy Spring National Bank of Maryland, in Olney, the principal subsidiary of $1.1 billion-asset Sandy Spring Bancorp, promoted four vice presidents to senior vice president.

Frank Bentz is responsible for information systems management and setting strategic direction for electronic funds transfer services. Mr. Bentz joined Sandy Spring in 1976 as a section clerk in the operations department. In 1989 he was elected assistant vice president of the communications department; he was promoted to vice president a year later.

Carole Corrigan is responsible for branch activities, policies, and procedures. She joined the bank in 1990 as an assistant branch manager, and in 1995 she was promoted to manager of the bank's Area I, which included branches in Olney, Lisbon, Leisureworld, and Annapolis. Ms. Corrigan was promoted to vice president last year.

Dennis Neville is controller and director of the financial management division. He joined the bank as vice president and controller in 1996.

Kathleen Pieper is director of the central operations division, managing 45 employees. She is responsible for deposit and loan operations, item processing, and mail and statement processing, as well as sales and service support. Ms. Pieper joined Sandy Spring in 1992 as vice president and director of operations.

Sandy Spring Bancorp also elected Gilbert L. Hardesty as a director. Mr. Hardesty, who will also be a director of the bank, was president of Crestar Financial Corp.'s Annapolis bank until his retirement in 1996.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.