State governments are working to update their credit union laws to prevent an exodus to the federal charter, which became more attractive in August 1998 when Congress agreed to lift strict limits on membership.

At least six states - Connecticut, Missouri, New Jersey, Oregon, Utah, and Virginia - have enacted legislation that matches federal law, said Colleen Kelly, vice president of state governmental affairs at the Credit Union National Association. More states are planning to act.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.