WASHINGTON - Banks in flood areas may now begin making loans without first getting appraisals on the real estate pledged as collateral, the five federal banking agencies announced Thursday.

"The exemption is necessary because the disruption of real estate markets in the flood areas interferes with the ability of institutions to obtain appraisals that meet the requirements of federal law and regulations," the agencies said in a statement.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.