The Federal Reserve Board on Wednesday extended to Feb. 1 the comment period on a proposal to ease the year-2000 burden on some banks involved in mergers.

The proposal would let banks that merge from July 1998 through May 1999 operate their computer systems separately until June 1, 2000. Normally, banks must modify their systems within a year of a merger.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.