Just how many states would the merged NationsBank Corp.- BankAmerica Corp. serve? That depends upon whether you ask the Federal Reserve Board or the banks.

In its Aug. 17 order approving the $60 billion deal, the Fed said the combined bank would operate "full-service" branches in 27 states. That must have come as a shock to the banks, which have reported they would operate in 22 states and the District of Columbia.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.