President Clinton on Thursday announced that he will nominate John D. Hawke Jr. to be the 28th comptroller of the currency.

Reports that Mr. Hawke, Treasury under secretary for domestic finance since 1995, was the President's pick for the job first surfaced in January when Eugene A. Ludwig announced he would step down. Julie L. Williams has been acting comptroller since Mr. Ludwig's five-year term expired April 3.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.