WASHINGTON -- President Bush renominated C.C. Hope to the board of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.

Mr. Hope, the only Democrat on the FDIC board, would serve through Feb. 28, 1993, the date that the thrift bailout law of 1989 designated as the end of all appointed members' terms. That will give the winner of this year's presidential election the opportunity to appoint a board majority.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.