Dennis J. LaFleur has been named president and chief executive officer of Chemical Bank Michigan, Clare, an affiliate of Chemical Financial Corp.

He succeeds Robert H. Beacom, who is retiring from the post he has held since 1980.

Mr. LaFleur was president and CEO of Chemical Bank South, Marshall, another affiliate of the parent corporation.

Alan W. Ott continues as chairman, president, and chief executive of Chemical Financial Corp. and chairman of the board of Chemical Bank Michigan.

Judith A.. Borowitz will become president and CEO of Chemical Bank South, Marshall, replacing Mr. LaFleur.

Ms. Borowitz has been senior vice president and a director of the Marshall bank.

Mr. Beacom joined the bank in 1974 as manager of its Coleman office. For 14 years previously, he had been a self employed milk distributor serving the mid-Michigan area. Earlier, he was an educator, serving as a teacher in Stalart, Trout Lake, and Coleman and as principal of the Coleman Middle School.

Mr. LaFleur has been president and CEO of Chemical Bank South since 1986. Chemical Bank South, which operates offices in Albion and Marshall, was organized through a merger of Chemical Bank Marshall and Chemical Bank Albion in 1986.

During 1985 and pan of 1986, while the merger was being planned and approved by bank regulators, Mr. LaFleur served as president and chief executive officer of both banks. He will remain. a director of Chemical Bank South following his move to Clare.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.