DENVER – State regulators on Friday approved applications from $2 billion Bellco CU and $225 million Denver Community CU to serve almost 450,000 residents in Adams County, making at least five of the state’s biggest credit unions authorized to serve the fast-growing county, which includes the Denver bedroom communities of Arvada and Aurora and part of the city of Denver.

Among the other credit unions already competing in those Denver suburbs are $1.2 billion Westera CU, $1.1 billion Public Service Employees CU, $3.4 billion Ent FCU, based in Colorado Springs, and $7 billion Texas giant Security Service FCU.

Friday’s actions will also allow Bellco CU, the largest state charter in Colorado, to serve 56,000 residents in rural Broomfield County, and Denver Community CU to add almost 500,000 people in Arapahoe County.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.