WASHINGTON - The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency has reached new complaint-sharing agreements with three states and the District of Columbia, bringing to 23 the total the agency has signed with state insurance regulators.The pacts with Illinois, Iowa, and Mississippi were announced last week by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. The agreements are meant to encourage cooperation between turf-conscious state and federal agencies; they call for the OCC and state insurance regulators to exchange copies of any local complaints about insurance sold by a national bank.

"With the passage of [financial reform], state insurance regulators are forging ahead with our plans to regulate insurance products in this new environment," said George Nichols 3d, Kentucky's insurance commissioner and the NAIC president. "These agreements are a significant, historic step between these states and the OCC."

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.