At the annual convention that kicks off today in Minneapolis, the American Bankers Association's agricultural and rural bankers committee will honor a Minnesota banker with a lifetime achievement award.

Les Peterson, president of Farmers State Bank in Trimont, Minn., will receive the Bruning Award for his work as a community leader, educator, and trade group activist.

Mr. Peterson, who has been mayor of Trimont for 19 years, has been a faculty member at the Midwest Banking Institute and other agricultural lending schools. He also served as a former chairman of the ABA's agricultural and rural bankers committee and worked on an ABA task force that helped create Farmer Mac, an agency that provides a secondary market for agricultural loans.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.