WASHINGTON - The Senate Banking Committee gained two new Republican members, including Minnesota's Rod Grams, a former member of the House Banking Committee.

Also joining the Senate panel Wednesday as the 104th Congress convened was Sen. Bill Frist, R-Tenn. Sen. Frist, a heart-transplant surgeon, replaces Jim Sasser, the 18-year Democratic veteran he defeated in November.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.