ATLANTA -- The new mayor of Charlotte, N.C., last week urged citizens in the surrounding six-county region to help the city finance its capital projects.

"We are now a functionally integrated region of at least six counties: Gaston, Iredell, Cabarrus, Union, York, and Mecklenburg, whose citizens ... fly out of the same airport, attend events in the same airport, attend events in the same coliseum, and mostly work and shop and spend their days in Charlotte," Mr. Vinroot said in his inauguration speech last Monday.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.