WASHINGTON - Missouri State Treasurer Bob Holden has been named chairman of a new 16-member task force set up by the National Association of State Treasurers to develop a code of ethics for treasurers and other participants in the municipal market.

The first meeting of the task force will be held in conjunction with the association's southern region meeting in Oklahoma City from Sept. 29 to Oct. 1, officials said. The task force was created during the treasurers' annual meeting in early August amid increasing publicity over political influence peddling and disclosure problems in the municipal market. The other 15 state treasurers named to the task force are: Ed Alter, Utah; Larrie Bailey, West Virginia; Marshall Bennett, Mississippi: Kathleen Brown, California; Jimmie Lou Fisher, Arkansas; Homes Harding, South Dakota; Claudette Henry, Oklahoma; Jim Hill, Oregon; David King, New Mexico; Mary Landrieu, Louisiana; Joe Malone, Massachusetts; Nancy Mayer, Rhode Island; Mike McGrath, Minnesota; Dawn Rockey, Nebraska; and Sam Shapiro, Maine.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.