The Department of the Treasury has invited financial institutions to bid on a large project to change the way government benefits are delivered in seven states.

The Southern Alliance of States - comprising Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Missouri, North Carolina, and Tennessee - has decided to implement electronic benefits transfer. Ultimately, the transactions generated from the alliance could account for 20% of all EBT, once it is done nationally.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.