The Federal Reserve Board has redesignated John C. Whitehead as chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York for 1997.

Mr. Whitehead, a former deputy secretary of state, is currently chairman of AEA Investors Inc. He has also been reappointed a class C director for a three-year term beginning January.

Thomas W. Jones was redesignated as New York Fed deputy chairman for 1997.

Mr. Jones is vice chairman, president, and chief operating officer of the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association-College Retirement Equities Fund. He has been a class C director and deputy chairman since January 1996.

George W. Hamlin 4th was elected a class A director of the New York Fed by a group of smaller banks in the Second Federal Reserve District.

Mr. Hamlin is president and chief executive of Canandaigua National Bank and Trust Co., and has been a director of the New York Fed's Buffalo branch.

He was elected to a three-year term, succeeding J. William Johnson, chairman and chief executive of the First National Bank of Long Island.

The Federal Reserve Board also elected Maria J. Garciaz to a three-year term as a director of the Salt Lake City branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco. She is executive director of Salt Lake Neighborhood Housing Services.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.