ABN Amro has reshuffled top management at Standard Federal Bank, which it bought May 1, assigning two of its own executives to top posts.

Scott K. Heitmann, vice chairman of Amro's LaSalle National Corp., has taken over as chairman of the Troy, Mich., thrift.

He succeeds Thomas R. Ricketts, who died in April after a brief battle with abdominal cancer.

Mr. Heitmann retains his job at LaSalle and divides his time between Chicago and Troy.

Jeffrey L. Conner, a senior vice president at LaSalle, is now Standard Federal's chief retail credit officer.

He will direct the newly formed ABN Amro Mortgage Banking Group, which includes Standard Federal's Interfirst wholesale mortgage lending division. Mr. Conner also works in Chicago and Troy.

Otherwise, most of Standard's top executives are from the pre-merger days, though their responsibilities have changed.

Garry G. Carley-who had been Standard Fed's No. 2 executive under Mr. Ricketts and its chief lending officer-was named vice chairman.

In a press release, ABN Amro said Mr. Carley, who sits on Standard Fed's board, would represent the thrift in the Detroit community and work on special projects.

Mr. Carley has worked at Standard Federal since 1977.

Joseph Krul, who had been a senior vice president and Standard Federal's chief financial officer, was named executive vice president. He remains the thrift's chief financial officer.

Mr. Krul's new responsibilities include overseeing the financial activities of Standard Federal Bank and the ABN Amro Mortgage Banking Group.

Mr. Krul has worked at the thrift since 1985.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.