The legislatures of Iowa, Mississippi, West Virginia, and New Jersey recently approved interstate branching legislation - bringing to 31 the number of states that have acted on such measures. Puerto Rico has also adopted the practice.

Of the four latest states, only New Jersey has not enacted its measure; Gov. Christine Todd Whitman is expected to sign it this week.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.