WASHINGTON — Rep. Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas, the newly named chairman of the Financial Services Committee, announced Thursday who will assume senior staff positions on the panel.

Shannon McGahn will serve as the committee's staff director. She previously was a deputy staff director during the negotiations over the 2010 Dodd-Frank Act, and later returned to the committee as a senior aide to former Chairman Spencer Bachus, R-Ala. Previously, she was a spokesman for former House Majority Leader Tom Delay, and the communications director for Hensarling at the House Republican Conference.

Jim Clinger will continue to serve as the committee's chief counsel, a position he has held since 2007. Kirsten Mork will be the committee's deputy staff director after having served as Hensarling's financial services policy advisor since 2009. Jeff Emerson will stay on as the committee's deputy staff director for communications, a position he has held since 2011.

Travis Norton joins the committee as its parliamentarian and general counsel after having served with the House Judiciary Committee in the same capacity. Previously, he was counsel to the Judiciary subcommittee on commercial and administrative law and an associate at the law firm of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr.

Hensarling also announced that Bachus would be given the title of chairman emeritus.

"Conferring the status of Chairman Emeritus is recognition of Spencer's many contributions and the fact that he has so much more to contribute to the committee," Hensarling said in a press release.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.