WASHINGTON -- The House Democratic Caucus on Tuesday tapped Rep. Norman Y. Mineta, D-Calif., to be the new chairman of the House Public Works and Transportation Committee.

The House body voted, 242 to 7, to select Mineta, whose bid for the chair was largely uncontested. Mineta is replacing Robert Roe, D-N.J., who is retiring.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.