The board of directors at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York formed a search committee to find a new president to succeed Timothy Geithner, President-elect Barack Obama's nominee as Treasury secretary.

The New York Fed's chairman, Stephen Friedman, and two other board members, Charles Wait and Denis Hughes, will comprise the search committee. Mr. Friedman is the chairman of Stone Point Capital LLC while Mr. Wait is the president and chief executive of The Adirondack Trust Co. and Mr. Hughes is the president of the New York State AFL-CIO.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.