With characteristic Federal Reserve Board understatement, Chairman Alan Greenspan was sworn in for his fourth four-year term at the helm of the central bank on June 20.

The ceremony, which was closed to the public, was held in the chairman's office; Vice Chairman Roger W. Ferguson Jr. administered the oath.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.