Slide 1 of 10
National Banking Acts of 1863 and 1864
Signed by Abraham Lincoln, the National Banking Acts created the federal bank charter, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and a uniform national currency. "The national system will create a reliable and permanent influence in support of the national credit, and protect the people against losses in the use of paper money," Lincoln said in his 1864 State of the Union address.