Brendsel's Return Engagement. Freddie Mac's stockholders felt quite comfortable with CEO Leland Brendsel and 12 other members of Freddie's board of directors, and reelected them to the 18-member board at the GSE's fifth annual stockholder's meeting in McLean, Va., May 11. Voters also agreed to keep Brendsel as chairman of the board, ratified the appointment of Freddie's independent public accountants, and voted down a proposal related to executive compensation. Stockholders couldn't vote on the board's remaining five positions because those are reserved for appointment by the president of the United States. The 12 other re-elected board members include: John C. Etling, president and CEO, General Reinsurance Corp.; David W. Glenn, president and COO, Freddie Mac; George D. Gould, vice chairman of Klingenstein Fields & Co.; Barbara C. Jordan, holder of the Lyndon B. Johnson Centennial Chair in National Policy at the University of Texas at Austin; Henry Kaufman, president Henry Kaufan & Co. Inc.; John B. McCoy, chairman and CEO, Banc One Corp.; James F. Montgomery, chairman and CEO, Great Western Financial Corp.; Russell F. Palmer, chairman and CEO, The Palmer Group; Ronald F. Poe, chairman and CEO, Dormand and Wilson Inc.; Donald J. Schuenke, retired chairman, Northwest Mutual Life Insurance Co.; Christina Seix, chairman and CEO, Seix Investment Advisors Inc.; and William J. Turner, chairman and CEO, Turner & Partners Inc.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.