Connecticut's state-chartered banks, thrifts, and credit unions are free to open on state holidays.

That's the word under a new policy adopted by the state Banking Department. The 86 banks and 72 credit unions will not longer be required to shut their doors on the state's 12 legal holidays.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.