Gov. Lawton Chiles has appointed new members to the board of supervisors at the Spaceport Florida Authority.

The appointment of Sheldon Busansky, Forrest McCartney, and Thomas Ogden last month brings the board up to its full slate of nine members for the first time since June, according to Edward Ellegood, the Spaceport's director of operations. In addition, Kenneth Williamson was reappointed, Ellegood said.

Due to the gap in its membership, the board has not held a meeting since August, Ellegood noted. But now, he said, it plans to meet later this month.

Each of the new appointments will serve terms ending June 30, 1996, and must be confirmed by the Florida Senate during the 1993 state legislative session. The new members and Williamson join four appointed members and two ex-officio members currently on the board.

"The newly appointed members will act as formal board members, unless the Senate decides not to keep them," Ellegood said. "But I do not foresee that happening."

Ellegood added that the authority is especially pleased with the space industry experience of its new members.

McCartney, he noted, recently retired as director of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Kennedy Space Flight Center; Busanky is a former vice president for business development at Honeywell Space Systems; and Ogden is business manager for the International Brotherhood of Electric Workers, Local 2088, which represents many space workers in Central Florida.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.