WASHINGTON - Digital signature legislation took a major step forward Wednesday as the Senate chose 17 negotiators to seek a compromise with the House.

Commerce Committee members make up a majority of the team. They are led by Chairman John McCain of Arizona, ranking Democrat Ernest F. Hollings of South Carolina, and the bill's sponsor, Spencer Abraham, R-Mich.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.