WASHINGTON — Regulators closed three more community banks Friday evening, bringing the 2009 failure total to 40.

The three failed banks — in North Carolina, Georgia and Kansas — totaled $1.5 billion in assets. The Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. announced deals to protect all their deposits — and store most of their assets — but the transactions will cost the agency roughly $363 million combined.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.