WASHINGTON — Leadership of the Senate Banking Committee came into fuller view on Tuesday with the announcement of subcommittee assignments.

Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., was named ranking member of the financial institutions and consumer protection subcommittee, raising her profile even more as she seeks to defend the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Sen. Pat Toomey, R-Pa., will remain chairman of the subcommittee.

Sen. Pat Toomey Bloomberg News

Sen. Dean Heller, R-Nev., will become chairman of the securities, insurance and investment subcommittee, succeeding Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, who is chairing the full committee. Heller was formerly chairman of the economic policy subcommittee, which will now be chaired by Sen. Tom Cotton, R-Ark.

Sen. Ben Sasse, R-Neb., was named chairman of the subcommittee on national security and international trade and finance. The previous subcommittee chair, Sen. Mark Kirk, R-Ill., lost his reelection bid in November. Sen. Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., will be the top Democrat on that subcommittee.

Leadership of the housing, transportation, and community development subcommittee will be unchanged with Sen. Tim Scott, R-S.C., as the subcommittee chair and Sen. Robert Menendez, D-N.J., as the ranking member.

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D., will succeed Warren as the ranking member of the economic policy subcommittee.

Subscribe Now

Access to authoritative analysis and perspective and our data-driven report series.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.