J.P. Morgan & Co. has obtained approval from South Africa to convert its local representative office into a branch.

Morgan opened a representative office and a securities unit in South Africa in 1997. The bank said that a branch is necessary to provide a full range of corporate banking services. Morgan had engaged mainly in trading local fixed-income securities, futures contracts, and equities.

Limited Time Offer

Save $400 off your subscription. Special offer ends April 30, 2017.

14-Day Free Trial

No credit card required. Complete access to articles, breaking news and industry data.